Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Yi (Tutor in London)

Yi
Yi
Tutor
London
Home Town:
Member Since: 04/07/2014
Last Login: 12 months ago
Response Rate: 85%
Expected Response: < 6 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MSc
University of Cambridge
Natural Sciences
2:1  (2012)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked

Information about Yi

I am currently working whilst finishing off my Chemistry PhD at UCL, and completed my undergraduate degree in Natural Sciences at the University of Cambridge with a BA and MSci (2.1). As a person I am open and approachable, who is easy to get on with and has a passion for passing on knowledge. My hobbies include reading, creative writing (I`d love to get published one day), drawing, cooking, blogging about food, and looking for exciting things to do in London. I also play the violin, piano and gu zheng. My other hobbies include yoga, climbing, cycling, parkour, aerial hoop and aerial silks.

My tutoring approach:

I`m a friendly and approachable person so I like to get to know the student - I feel it`s very important to establish a good rapport with them as this makes it easier to identify weaknesses. I will ask the student if they have any questions or issues that they would like to address and do a recap of the previous lesson, before moving onto the current topic. We`ll work through lots of examples, have plenty of reiteration and work through some questions before setting them homework. I also like to incorporate a lot of exam technique into my lessons as I believe it`s never too early to get started on exam preparations!

Availability: Weekends
Weekday evenings

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: May 2013 - present: Registered Tutor with First Tutors. Can provide references from previous clients and a link to feedback with the agency on request.

February 2013 - present: Registered Tutor with Enjoy Education (CRB checked)

October 2012 - April 2013: Private iGCSE Science Tutor
Duties: One on one tutor for iGCSE Maths, Chemistry and Biology.

October 2012 - present: University College London
Role: Teaching Assistant
Duties: Teaching assistant for first year undergraduate chemistry workshops with a class size of thirty and lab demonstrator for first year undergraduate chemistry practicals.

2010-present: Proofreader for essays at University level

2005 - 2007: Self employed
Role: Music teacher (violin and piano)
Duties: Provided one-on-one tuition in both violin and piano to students. Had to advertise and arrange publicity to gain custom, create personalised lesson plans for each student and provide constructive feedback on their progress.

2005 - 2006: Leeds College of Music
Role: Peer Mentor
Duties: Acted as a teaching assistant for classes of 11-16 year olds. Also provided pastoral support, occasionally led workshops and filled in for absent staff.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

Belsize ParkChalk FarmBelsize Park Biology TutorsBelsize Park Chemistry TutorsBelsize Park Maths TutorsBelsize Park Physics TutorsChalk Farm Biology TutorsChalk Farm Chemistry TutorsChalk Farm Maths TutorsChalk Farm Physics Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.313 seconds
twitter    facebook