Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

John (Tutor in Peckham)

John
John
Tutor
Peckham, London
Home Town: Peckham
Member Since: 18/02/2014
Last Login: 4 years ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MA
Goldsmiths, University of London
English
Distinction  (2013)
BA
University of East Anglia (UEA)
American and English Literature
1st  (2011)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 30.00 to 35.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegree
English--£30.00£30.00£35.00
Information about John

I am a PhD Candidate at Queen Mary, University of London, one of the best English departments in the country. I graduated from UEA with a First Class Honours degree in American and English Literature in 2011, spent the next year working and studying creative writing at Birkbeck College, and then returned to full-time education in 2012 at Goldsmiths College. I graduated in December 2013 with a Distinction graded MA in Comparative Literary Studies. I am preparing a thesis which analyses the differing approaches to reading literature at university level – both philosophical arguments and social/historical readings – and the consequences of these approaches, so I am well equipped to teach Literature and English language to the individual tutee`s course requirements, as I have spent a lot of time thinking about how English can and should be taught to others. My specialism is American 20th century fiction and poetry. I first knew that reading and studying literature could be a life changing experience when I was taking it seriously for the first time at A level, and it was the enthusiasm and commitment of my tutor at the time which brought out the same in me. I live in Peckham, South London with my girlfriend but I`m willing to travel most of inner London area as I have my own car. My travel is included in my hourly rate up to and including five miles from my home, but traveling to zone 4 or beyond will have to be negotiated. I`m also willing to meet tutees at the Library.
I have recently received and passed the extended CRB/DBS check.

Availability: Flexible, can work evenings and weekends. Saturdays preferred.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: I have privately supervised the writing of a extended `dissertation style` writing project of an A Level student through to successful completion. In addition, throughout my university career I have conducted group seminars and always encourage dialogue and engagement with a subject in class. Informally after class, I have worked with others to make sure we all understand one another`s opinion and reach new conclusions. I am also currently tutoring an As Level student to A grade in their A1 English Literature and Language exams, and several GCSE English students as well.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

PeckhamPeckham RyePeckham English TutorsPeckham Rye English Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.189 seconds
twitter    facebook