Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors

Piers (Tutor in Coventry)

Piers has disabled his/her profile. You connot contact this Tutor at this time.

Piers
Piers
Tutor
Coventry, West Midlands
Feedback Score:
+2
Member Since: 13/03/2015
Last Login: 40 days ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 2 hours

Qualifications

PhD
Oxford University
Ecology
Pass  (1979)
CertEd
Northern Counties College, Newcastl...
Sciences, Biology major
Pass  (1978)
BA
Oxford University
Zoology
2:1  (1973)
A Level
King Edward VI School
Biology
A  (1969)
A Level
King Edward VI School
Chemistry
D  (1969)
A Level
King Edward VI School
Pure Maths with Statistics
C  (1969)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Piers
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-Level
Biology--£30.00£30.00
Information about Piers

I have a degree in zoology and doctorate in ecology from Oxford university, and I am a qualified teacher.

I live in Coventry with my wife Thea, a nurse at the University Hospital, and I enjoy helping younger people to gain and use knowledge in many fields. I can assist with exam technique and build confidence in students.

I am also an enthusiastic naturalist, and I enjoy keeping up with scientific developments.

Availability: Possible times for tutoring include Monday to Friday evenings, between 6pm and 9pm (but excluding Tuesdays), and Monday to Friday daytimes. Occasional Saturday daytime bookings are possible.
I can also offer tutorials over Skype.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: I took Biology, Chemistry and Pure Maths with Statistics at A level. My first degree at the Queen`s College, Oxford University, was in Zoology, with a Gibb`s prize for third place in my year.
I carried out research in ecology for a doctorate (D.Phil.) at Oxford University, before qualifying as a secondary school teacher in sciences and maths and working in tutorial colleges and secondary schools for seven years, including sixth form. I have also worked in business (health food wholesaling) and the voluntary sector as a manager of a Coventry charity helping the homeless and those with other needs. Recently I have done statistical analysis for the charity, and stock control analysis in business.

I have a DBS certificate (standard disclosure) that I have not managed to upload to Tutor Hunt because it is bigger than A4. This equates to a DBS certificate now. I have now uploaded a basic DBS disclosure.

Feedback For Piers (2)
We have a total of 2 review(s) for Piers.

Gill ()
05/07/2016

5/5 Rating

Piers was really helpful, helping to explain more complex information and helping a lot with exam technique as well. He took care to discover what I knew and where I needed to concentrate, so there was no duplication.


Yvonne (Miss)
26/10/2015

5/5 Rating

Piers is an excellent tutor he is very patient and understanding. Piers works around you and is always punctual. I would highly recommend Piers for extra tuition for both children and adults, as he is able to adapt to your learning style and explain it in a simple and understanding way. I will definitely use him again.

Tutors Response :

Thank you Yvonne! You`re a good student, motivated, diligent and ready to keep learning. You deserve to do well.


© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.191 seconds
twitter    facebook