Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors


Ilford, Essex
Home Town: Ilford
Member Since: 15/09/2019
Last Login: 1 day ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 3 hours

My Qualifications

University of East London (UEL)
Primary Education - QTS
QTS  (2015)
Aston University, Birmingham
mathematics and business studies
First class  (2014)
A Level
Woodford County High School
B  (2010)
A Level
Woodford County High School
A  (2010)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Aswini

Information about Aswini

My name is Aswini and I am a qualified Primary school teacher with 7 years of experience in teaching all subjects in KS2.

I graduated with a first class combined honours degree in Mathematics and Business but really had a passion to work with and teach children. Therefore I went on to completing my PGCE in Primary education with a specialism in Mathematics.

Although my specialism is in Maths, I have plenty of experience teaching English, Science and other foundation topics at primary school level. I have taught year 5 for two years and year 6 for 5 years. Having worked in year 6, I am familiar with preparing children for secondary school and getting them ready for the end of KS2 SATs exams. I also have tutoring experience in KS1. I thoroughly enjoy working with children and using various different teaching styles suited to the learner to ensure every child is able to achieve their potential.

During my first lesson, I would complete some initial assessment in the subject and discuss what areas are targets. I then encourage children to set their own time-measured target so that learning becomes more personal to them and to encourage children to take ownership of this learning. I would encourage children to reflect on their targets frequently to ensure we meet the target.

I like to use visual pictures, rhymes and mnemonics to help children learn. I feel this helps to engage children as well as providing them with tools to help them remember mathematical methods or even different grammar devices.

With Mathematics, I try to focus on deepening understand by explaining why certain concepts work using bar models and pictures, rather than teaching methods that children do not understand. I also try to connect concepts so that mathematics becomes more fluent to children.

I enjoy reading and have plenty of experience helping children with their comprehension skills. I aim to Instil a love for reading in children as well as teaching them different techniques to answer different types of comprehension questions, especially targeted to the KS2 SATs examinations.

Availability: I am available to teach weekday evenings on Wednesday- Friday after 4pm and Saturday mornings. On Monday and Tuesday, I am available after 6pm.

Willing to travel: 2 miles

Experience: I have a Mathematics degree and a postgraduate degree in Teaching Primary. I have spent my teaching career teaching children in the upper end of key stage 2 but have worked placements across all year groups. I have tutored children of all ages including key stage 1 and EYFS.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor


After School


Nearby Locations

AbridgeChigwellClayhallGants HillGrange HillRedbridgeRoding ValleyAbridge English TutorsAbridge Maths TutorsChigwell Maths TutorsClayhall English TutorsClayhall Maths TutorsGants Hill English TutorsGants Hill Maths TutorsGrange Hill Maths TutorsRedbridge English TutorsRedbridge Maths Tutors