Tutor HuntSubjectsArt Tutors

Elizabeth (Tutor in London)

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
Tutor
London, London
Feedback Score:
+2
Member Since: 31/05/2014
Last Login: 4 days ago
Response Rate: 55%
Expected Response: < 16 hours

My Qualifications

PhD
Royal College of Art
Critical Writing in Art and Design
Pass  (2020)
Masters
University of Glasgow
History of Art
Distinction  (2015)
BA
King's College London (Universi...
English Language and Literature
2:1  (2012)
Foundation Diploma
Central Saint Martins
Art and Design
Pass  (2009)
A Level
Rugby High School
Art
A  (2008)
A Level
Rugby High School
Biology
A  (2008)
A Level
Rugby High School
History
A  (2008)
A Level
Rugby High School
English
A  (2008)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Elizabeth
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 31.25 to 93.75 per hour

Information about Elizabeth

I am able to teach online to support pupils and parents out of school and over the summer holidays in preparation for exams or just to catch up or review missing material.

I am a recent PhD graduate from the Royal College of Art in Critical Writing in Art and Design. I have a Masters in the History of Art, an English undergraduate from Kings College London and an Art and Design Foundation Diploma from Central Saint Martins. I received A grades in my Biology, English, History and Art and Design A levels at Rigby School. I have been working as a freelance tutor since 2008, focussing on English literature, English language, English as a foreign language, Biology, History, History of Art and Art and Design. I have worked with young people from a range of backgrounds as well as some SEN students.

My study of the humanities and source driven subjects has enabled me to develop strong skills working with a range of resources, analysing material and incorporating the facts and ideas into my own written work. It is these kinds of skills I aim to impart to my students when assisting them in their own work and study. My years working as a tutor have instilled in me a flexible approach to teaching and an adaptability according to the individual circumstances of the student. I use mind maps as well as other visual, verbal and more experimental tools. These practical methods are what I find the most effective for ensuring the full understanding of my students and their engagement with the material.

My time in education has taught me invaluable study methods for the retention of material. I am adept at managing my own time, having juggled my own academic assignments with professional responsibilities throughout my years at university. I prioritise tasks and yet always ensure each task is completed to the highest of standards. I am organised in my approach to academic work and learning to ensure material is always covered in depth. I develop effective lesson plans that strive to maintain the enthusiasm and interest of my students, so as to ensure they remain engaged and reap the most rewards from our classes. I enjoy bringing my creative flair to my lessons and take great satisfaction from inspiring and motivating children to learn.

Availability: Weekday mornings, evenings and weekends.

Willing to travel: 50 miles

Experience: • Facilitating art crits at the Royal College of Art with masters students. I lead group discussions of a collection of students` works prior to their graduation. I steered the direction of conversations and offered probing questions to encourage students to think critically and reflectively about their own work in advance of their final examinations.
• Successfully preparing students for GCSE, AS and A2 years of study and examinations. Most recently I have been tutoring an A level student, helping to prepare him for his English and History examinations and an A level History of Art student. I have enhanced their understanding of topics within the individual subjects, as well as helping them to develop their ideas comprehensively so as to prepare them to answer longer essay questions with detailed accuracy.
• In 2016 I worked as a teaching assistant at Oliver’s Montessori Nursery in Belsize Park for six months. Interacting with children aged 2-4, from a range of diverse backgrounds and learning abilities, I developed my abilities to work with very young children, using my initiative and imagination to engage them in learning activities.
• Working with young children from a range of backgrounds to improve their English language skills including, reading, writing and vocabulary.
• Working with children in KS3 to improve their understanding and concentration in a range of subject areas.
• Working with adults to develop their English language skills, including reading, writing and vocabulary.
• Working as a teaching assistant in under-privileged schools, covering a range of subject areas and levels of ability.
• Working with children who had, for a variety of reasons, fallen off the tracks in their education, and helping them regain confidence in their abilities while equipping them with the tools they needed to go back to being independent learners.
• Working with very young children at family workshops to encourage their enjoyment and engagement with the arts.

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Elizabeth (2)

We have a total of 2 review(s) for Elizabeth.

Selina ()
16/10/2016

5/5 Rating

Unreliable. She failed to turn up for second lesson.


linda (Ms)
09/09/2014

5/5 Rating

Elizabeth taught my son GCSE Art over the summer, as he had missed most of year 10 Art. I was extremely happy with what she achieved. She developed a very good rapport with him, and successfully motivated him to produce a really good portfolio of work in time for the start of year 11. She is reliable, friendly and managed to hold his interest and steer his focus. I recommend her highly. Best wishes, Linda.


Nearby Locations

Belsize ParkBelsize Park Biology TutorsBelsize Park English TutorsBelsize Park History TutorsBelsize Park Maths Tutors