Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Anna

Anna
Anna
Tutor
Surbiton, none
Feedback Score:
+6
Member Since: 23/12/2013
Last Login: 2 days ago
Response Rate: 85%
Expected Response: < 18 hours

My Qualifications

CELTA
The University of Gloucestershire
Certificate of English Language Teaching
B  (2001)
MA
University of St Andrews
French/Psychology
2i  (1997)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified

Rates summary: 30.00 to 35.00 per hour
KS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
English£30£30£35£30
Psychology-£30£35-

Information about Anna

I am an experienced English teacher and have tutored for 10 years as well as teaching English language and literature to IGCSE and IB levels for 5 years in an International School where I was responsible for the year 7 to 9 English currriculum. I have tutored GCSE, IGCSE, KS3, A-level, year 6 and adult English and EFL at all levels including IELTS and being an oral examiner. I also create vocabulary and exam resources and creative writing examples for KS3 and GCSE to focus on the language and analysis skills most useful for the new GCSE English language exams.

My teaching is individualised to assess and then teach to the student`s needs and what they need to improve. In general, at KS3 and 4, I focus on essential skills for GCSE that are less covered at school such as learning vocabulary, spelling, punctuation and sentence structure, planning and structuring creative writing and literature essays, opinion or transactional writing, example analysis and unseen poetry. And we alternate that with reviewing and practising the topics and skills the student is currently studying at school to ensure better long-term progress.
At A-level, classes will often be short-term focused on a particularly difficult text or aspect of the exams.

My teaching is also informed by research and my degree studies and interest in psychology such as testing and memory, effective revision, spacing, cognitive load and SEN. As such I focus on making sure long-term learning is actually happening.

The key skills I bring include being knowledgeable about the subject and assessment, clear communication, a sense of humour, patience, interest in the student and motivating people to achieve, critical thinking, and wider reading, interests and knowledge of other languages, living abroad, science, sport, ethics, current affairs...

I can do group lessons for a small extra charge per person.

I am happy to provide further references from parents.

Availability: Currently online or in-person various days/times.

Willing to travel: 50 miles

Experience: I have 15 years` teaching experience including 10 years as a tutor, 5 years as a Secondary teacher of English Language and Literature to IGCSE and IB levels (equivalent to A-level) and head of KS3 at an international school and 7 years teaching English as a foreign language. I have tutored English Literature and Language at A-level, GCSE and IGCSE (all exam boards), KS3 and EFL to children and adults, beginners to advanced and some year 6. I have taught and been an official examiner for IELTS, IGCSE Second language, FCE and CAE.

I`m also a qualified Spanish-English translator with a degree in French and experience in translating and proof-reading.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Anna (6)

We have a total of 6 review(s) for Anna.

Tharani (Mrs)
17/06/2021

5/5 Rating

The lessons really helped my daughter gain her confidence in english literature and language as they did many practice questions and essays.


Marcia (Mrs)
13/09/2018

5/5 Rating

My son was very nervous about getting a tutor, but is now very pleased that he has one. In the weeks that Anna has been tutoring my son, we can already see an improvement and that he is more confident in his written abilities. I highly recommend Anna to help your child in their understanding of grammar, sentence structure and strategies to improve their english work.


Helen (Mrs)
25/02/2018

5/5 Rating

Excellent Tutor,


Mandy (Mrs)
19/10/2017

4/5 Rating

Recently commenced lessons with Anna and my son is getting on very well to date.


Anna (Mrs)
09/12/2016

5/5 Rating

Very helpful teacher. My daughter improved her writing skills and got very good results at her GCSE. Anna


Jennifer (Mrs)
06/11/2015

5/5 Rating

Anna is a calm, consistent influence on our otherwise rather lively 11 year old son. She is already helping him to gain confidence and start to enjoying English as a subject. I would highly recommend her as a tutor.


Nearby Locations

Long DittonSurbitonSurbiton English TutorsLong Ditton English Tutors