Tutor HuntSubjectsSpanish Tutors

Marina

Marina
Marina
Tutor
Leeds, none
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 14/03/2013
Last Login: 6 days ago
Response Rate: 85%
Expected Response: < 3 hours

My Qualifications

QTS
Leeds Trinity University
PGCE (Secondary)
Pass  (2018)
Other
Instituto Cervantes Manchester
SIELE
C1  (2017)
PGCE
Leeds Trinity University
Modern Foreign Languages
Pass  (2016)
Overseas Qualification
Yerevan State Linguistic University after V. Brusov
English and French languages specialist teacher
Distinction  (2008)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified

Rates summary: 19.00 to 22.50 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Armenian£19£19£19£20£22.50£20
Efl£19£19£19£20-£20
French£19£19£19£20-£20
Hindi£19£19£19--£20
Maths£19£19----
Portuguese£19£19£19£20-£20
Russian£19£19£19£20£22.50£20
Spanish£19£19£19£20-£20

Information about Marina

I have been passionate about languages since early childhood. Having gained my degree from a linguistic university, I have an in-depth understanding of languages structures and grammar, which facilitates the teaching-learning process for me.

I have a degree in English and French languages, but have further taught myself Spanish, Portuguese, Hindi, Turkish and I am actively learning Chinese and Arabic now.

During the 12 years of my tutoring practice, I have taught English, Spanish, French, Russian and Armenian languages in four different countries to learners of all ages and for various purposes.

I have done almost 200 confirmed hours of professional interpreting in English, Russian, Spanish, Portuguese and Armenian languages for the NHS, the Police, Courts, Social Services, etc.

I have written and directed two feature films in Hindi language (my 6th language in the order of learning), for the latest of which I received the Best Original Screenplay award from a prestigious international film festival.

Availability: Flexible

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: Experience
• 12 years of experience tutoring English, Spanish, Russian, French and Armenian languages.
• 10 years of experience translating in 8 languages.
• 6 years of professional interpreting in 5 languages for the Police, NHS, Courts, Social Services, etc.
• 4 years of teaching Spanish, French, Russian and English in schools in England.
• Award-winning filmmaker.

Teaching Approach
Throughout my long journey of language teaching-learning, I have learnt about numerous recognised methods of teaching such as that of Michel Thomas, Vera F. Birkenbihl, Ilya Frank, etc. I have used many different methods in my classroom teaching and tutoring. At the same time, having spent the largest part of my life learning languages, I have come up with my own method of foreign language acquisition, which is more suitable for people with basic understanding of grammar connotations.
I am very flexible in terms of my teaching approach and vary it depending on the purposes of learning, as well as the personal preferences of the students.
I always take into account the student`s opinion and build the lessons around their individual needs, rather than trying to fit all in one size.
I have a large variety of digital resources for different languages and methods of learning, and I often combine several sources to specifically make the most of the available options. I enjoy greatly designing learning materials myself as well.
Whatever method we choose to study, I will ask the students to devote another 1 hour per week for homework which might range from written exercises to watching a film in the target language.
Speaking a number of languages and in a constant effort to improve my knowledge, I regularly read literature in those languages, listen to podcasts and music, as well as watch films and shows of those countries where these languages are spoken. This knowledge of current affairs and culture helps me to deliver lessons based on authentic sources which makes the materials more relevant to students and increases their motivation in my lessons.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Marina (1)

We have a total of 1 review(s) for Marina.

Wendy (Mrs)
05/08/2015

5/5 Rating

Marina is an excellent tutor she came fully prepared, explains and teaches well and is very personable. I highly recommend her.


Nearby Locations

Boston SpaCastlefordFeatherstoneGarforthOultonWetherbyWoodlesfordFeatherstone French TutorsFeatherstone Maths TutorsFeatherstone Spanish TutorsBoston Spa French TutorsBoston Spa Maths TutorsBoston Spa Spanish TutorsCastleford French TutorsCastleford Maths TutorsCastleford Spanish TutorsGarforth French TutorsGarforth Maths TutorsGarforth Spanish TutorsOulton Maths TutorsWetherby French TutorsWetherby Maths Tutors