Tutor HuntSubjectsFrench Tutors

Kaan (Tutor in Durham)

Kaan
Kaan
Tutor
Durham, Durham
Home Town: Durham
Member Since: 14/10/2013
Last Login: 5 years ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data

Qualifications

I have been educated in French schools all over my life (until when I got into Durham). I passed the French Baccalaureat (French A level equivalent) with `mention tres bien` and a grade of 17 (just as guidance: best unis as Oxford or Cambridge require a grade of 15 or over from French Bacalaureat students. Durham asked me for a 17 though when I applied, which I found quite strange...)
Currently 2nd year of the BA in PPE (Philosophy, Politics and Economics) at Durham University.

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 12.00 to 13.50 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
French£12£12£12£12£12.50£12.50
Humanities£12£12---£13.50
Italian£12£12£12£12£12£12
Philosophy£12£12£13.50£13.50-£13.50
Politics£12£12£13.50---
Turkish£12£12£12£12£12£12

Information about Kaan

Hello,

I am Kaan, `Philosophy, Politics and Economics` student at Durham University.
I lived in many different countries (7 in total I think :p)and speak 4 languages and a half: English, French, Italian, Turkish (the half is for Spanish that in recent years I am tending to forget I lived in Argentina and Spain when I was a lot younger).
So, I can teach French, Italian and Turkish at all levels to children and to adults. (I speak all of these at a mother-tongue level).
My classes are person tailored. They can be more like a conversation (for those who have the level and want to practice what they already know), or I can prepare more specific sessions (for example: French literature/poetry. We would work based on some real/classical/wanted texts and analyse them. This can be interesting for someone studying French literature at uni, for someone who is interested/passionate by French literature and wants to better/acquire knowledge of the subject or for someone who just wants to learn the language in this more interesting and conceptualized way).
It actually is not only the language itself, but everything linked to it that the lessons cover. Again, it depends on what you want and what your interests are.
My other very strong point is social subjects as History, Politics, literature, etc... that I had the occasions to study in depth for my Baccalaureat and through my personal readings and researches.
I can be of great help for philosophy as it is my main academic interest. I have a great background in philosophy thanks to the French high-school where I did the `literary section` with 8 hours of philosophy per week (and I have to admit that I find quite easy the philosophy modules at Durham Uni now thanks to the background I have).
Finally, I will add that my general culture is really rich thanks to my `active` and `moving` life and to my personal and academic interests and curiosities.

Availability: I am available during the academic year (October- December, January-June) as long as I do not have classes at the uni.

Can also do group classes (max. of 3 people).

Willing to travel: 3 miles

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

BrandonDurhamFerryhillSpennymoorUshaw MoorWest RaintonDurham French TutorsDurham Politics TutorsFerryhill French TutorsFerryhill Politics TutorsSpennymoor French TutorsSpennymoor Politics TutorsBrandon French TutorsBrandon Politics TutorsUshaw Moor French TutorsUshaw Moor Politics TutorsWest Rainton French TutorsWest Rainton Politics Tutors