Tutor HuntSubjects

Alex

Alex
Alex
Tutor
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
Home Town: St Ives
Member Since: 08/04/2021
Last Login: 1 hour ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 8 minutes

My Qualifications

MMath
Oxford University
Mathematics
2005

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Alex
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

This tutor has provided no information about subjects

Information about Alex

I am an Oxbridge maths graduate and system administrator with interests in education and psychology. In my free time, I am often either making something in my woodworking workshop or out riding my bike.

I can`t teach you to pass exams (there`s many others on this site who can), but I can teach you real, practical, hands-on skills that you can use in your daily life, work, or hobbies.

My approach is hands-on, so most of our time together will be spent doing something practical. This means you can learn by getting your hands dirty, instead of having to listen to or read lengthy explanations. In my experience, this approach works best if you already have some experience with the subject, but are looking to deepen your understanding, or you have particular questions you want to address.

I don`t have a programme __ each session will be tailored to match what you need at that moment.

I offer a safe, supportive space in which you can learn by doing (with guidance from me as appropriate), feel relaxed about making mistakes (this is often the best way to learn), and ask all the questions you want (including so-called "stupid" ones, which are usually the most valuable and important). I believe that what`s really important and practical is not filling your head with facts, but knowing how to find the answers as and when you need them.

I can teach coding (my language of choice is Python, though I also know other languages), Unix/Linux skills (command-line fluency, scri pting and automation, server configuration, etc.), basic electronics (including microcontroller programming), and maths. If you`re looking for something specific, please do get in touch and I will see whether I am able to help you with it.

I am based in Cambridgeshire, though at the moment, I am only offering online sessions. My suggested session length would be three hours with a 30 minute break in the middle. The time goes quickly! However, I can also do shorter sessions if you prefer.

Availability: Mondays, Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Alex
Alex

Nearby Locations

CambourneChatterisColneElsworthGodmanchesterHolywellHuntingdonOverRamseySomershamSt IvesSwaveseyUpper CambourneWarboys