Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors

Eliot (Tutor in Lanarkshire)

Eliot
Eliot
Tutor
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Home Town: Lanarkshire
Member Since: 11/01/2016
Last Login: 59 days ago
Response Rate: 45%
Expected Response: < 11 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MBChB
University of Glasgow
Medicine
pending  (2016)
BSc
The University of Edinburgh
Biological Sciences (Developmental...
1st  (2013)
Advanced Higher
High School of Dundee
Biology
A  (2006)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Eliot
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 20.00 to 30.00 per hour
GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Biology£20.00£20.00£30.00£20.00
Entrance Exams-£20.00£20.00£20.00
Information about Eliot

Graduate medical student and professional biology, mathematics, UKCAT and medical admissions tutor with 11+ years tutoring experience.

I have a first class BSc (Hons) from the University of Edinburgh in Developmental and Cell Biology, and I have worked teaching science and tutoring individuals since I was an undergraduate student. I have experience tutoring individuals aged 14 to 30 of all levels and abilities in both group and 1-to-1 settings, and I cover material ranging from National 3-5/GCSE level up to undergraduate senior honours. I am fully up-to-date on the SQA Curriculum for Excellence (CfE), and have experience tutoring CfE biology, human biology and mathematics at all levels, and chemistry and physics to National 5/GCSE.

In addition to these traditional tutoring services, I also run UKCAT tutoring over the summer months (June - August) for prospective UK medical and dental students. As a graduate medical student myself, I know the unique and daunting challenge these entrance exams pose to prospective medical and dental students of all ages and abilities, however from personal experience I know that they can be overcome through structured study and practice just like any other exam. I re-sit the UKCAT myself every year in order to keep up to date with changes and trends, most recently scoring an average of 810 in July 2018. As of April 2018 I have tutored 23 students through the UKCAT and medical or dental admissions process, and of those 100% gained at least 1 interview for medicine or dentistry and 96% were able to secure an offer. I also offer ongoing support for prospective medical and dental students throughout the application process if desired, including advice on entry, interview preparation and personal statement guidance and support at no extra cost.

I believe that the key to a successful tutoring relationship is mutual respect and trust - trust in the tutor that they are both knowledgeable about the subject and confident in their ability to educate, and trust in the tutee that they work diligently and to the best of their ability. I am a firm believer of the mantra "preparation is the key to success", and as such I see the role of the tutor as not just that of an educator but also as a facilitator of self-directed learning, ensuring that material is covered methodically, thoroughly and repeatedly over the course of the year. By tailoring my sessions to individual requirements and remaining flexible, I hope to constantly challenge and push my tutee`s throughout the year so that come crunch time they feel calm, confident and prepared for their exams.

Availability: Weekday evenings and all day weekends

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: I cover the SQA CfE, GCSE/A-level and IB curricula for both biology and human biology at all levels. I also cover human biology up to undergraduate honours level, and tutor the UK medical admissions tests UKCAT and GAMSAT over the summer from June to August. My experience is as follows:

- 11 years` experience working as a biology and human biology tutor for the SQA curriculum from National 5s to Advanced Highers
- 5 years` experience working as a UKCAT tutor. Most recent UKCAT score = 815 (sat in July 2016)
- 4 years` experience working as a Science Communicator for the Edinburgh International Science Festival
- 3 years` experience working as a University Academic Support Worker at the University of Edinburgh
- 2 summer`s spent working as a science and first-aid teacher at summer camps in the USA

I have a number of additional references and email addresses of past tutee`s that are available on request, and an up-to-date Enhanced Disclosure Scotland as required for both my work as a tutor and my studies in medical school.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

HillheadMaryhillHillhead Biology TutorsMaryhill Biology Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.205 seconds
twitter    facebook