Tutor HuntSubjects

Owen (Tutor in Gloucester)

Owen
Owen
Tutor
Gloucester, Gloucestershire
Home Town: Gloucester
Member Since: 01/10/2019
Last Login: 12 months ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified

This tutor has provided no information about subjects

Information about Owen

I am a double graduate of Cardiff University, with a BSc. in Mathematics, and an MSc. in Operational Research and Applied Statistics (Operational Research is a branch of mathematics dealing with decision making). Since graduating in 2016, I have worked in financial services, most recently at Deloitte. Deciding that a career in finance was not for me, I have now become a tutor, with the intention of studying medicine beginning in 2020.

Availability: Monday (All Day)
Tuesday (All Day)
Wednesday (Afternoons & Evenings)
Thursday (Afternoons & Evenings)
Friday (All Day)

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: In my family, I am the one who has the brain for numbers. As a result, I have been unofficially teaching maths for much of my life. From explaining percentages to tutoring my brother for his A Levels, I have done it all.

My belief is that every individual learns differently, and so every lesson should be tailored to the individual. I like to begin with a base line assessment of the learner’s abilities, and a discussion about goals and objectives. If the aim is to improve grades at GCSE or A Level, I like to review the syllabus and mark scheme from the exam board, too. From this, I develop a learning pathway, which I use to guide the student towards their goals.

From my own experience, I have found that the best way to learn maths is through tangible examples. For example, if I were teaching algebra, and the student was a keen baker, I might use the idea of doubling the quantities in a recipe to show how algebra can be thought as a ratio of different ingredients.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

AbbeydaleChalfordGloucesterGloucestershireHartpuryMatsonNailsworthStandishStroudWhitminster