Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjects

Candace (Tutor in London)

Candace
Candace
Tutor
London
Feedback Score:
+7
Member Since: 26/05/2013
Last Login: 2 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 10 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MRes
University of Reading
Archaeology
1st  (2014)
MA
American Public University
Ancient and Classical History
1st  (2010)
BA
San Diego State University
History and Classics
1st  (2006)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Candace
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 45.00 to 50.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Ancient History--£45.00£50.00£50.00£50.00
Anthropology----£50.00£50.00
Archaeology----£50.00£50.00
Basic Skills--£50.00---
Biology£45.00-£45.00---
Citizenship Studies--£45.00---
Eleven Plus-£50.00----
English£45.00£45.00£45.00£50.00--
Entrance Exams£45.00£50.00£50.00£50.00£50.00£50.00
Geography--£45.00£50.00£50.00£50.00
History-£45.00£45.00£50.00£50.00£50.00
Humanities---£50.00--
Ielts---£50.00£50.00-
Maths£45.00£45.00£45.00---
Special Needs-£50.00£50.00£50.00--
Information about Candace

I am a professional educator, qualified in the United States, with over 10 years of teaching experience. I specialize in one-to-one bespoke tuition, professional/working children, and homeschooling. The majority of my students live in Kensington and Chelsea or Westminster and attend competative independent (day or boarding) schools. My experience ranges from test prep to homework assistance and independent coursework. I tutor Entrance Exams (11+, 13+, interviews and applications), GCSE, IB and A-level courses. Additionally, I work with dozens of students every year who need assistance with exam prep, marked coursework or dissertations (Undergraduate and MA/MSc).

As a PhD student, I currently teach undergraduate courses and I was an adjunct professor in New York City before moving to London. Additionally, I have worked as a Classroom Teacher, Supply Teacher, SEN Tutor, Curriculum Designer, Tutor Manager, and managed numerous museum education departments.

My teaching approach is very unique as it stems from a combination of different teaching experiences and education theory. With younger students, I make learning fun and focus on building core concepts which will help them be better students for life. For older students, I focus on becoming independent learners and utilize the Socratic Method.

Outside of the classroom, I have worked for museums and educational companies including giving a number of professional development workshops for history and science teachers. I have also worked with standards to create curriculum as a consultant on projects including documentaries and online education.

Availability: Afternoons, evenings and occasional weekends. Save 1/2 price compared to hiring me for tuition through other agencies.

*** Please contact me about holiday tuition slots***

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Willing to travel: 2 miles

Experience: I am a professional educator with American teaching qualifications and over a decade of experience. In addition to teaching at local colleges and universities, I write curriculum and design various educational projects both in Europe and America. I specialize in discreet, bespoke tutoring and home-school students- including mainstream SEN, international students and those seeking admission into US universities alongside a number of students who need regular homework help, test prep and entrance exams tuition.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Below is a list of families and students that I have assisted in the 5 years.
I am happy to say I have had previous students admitted to many Russell Group and Ivy League schools.

University Level:
MA Anthropology, SOAS: Master`s student applying for PhD programs needed assistance in creating a project proposal, passed with distinction.

PGCE Numeracy: Master`s student applying for PGCE programs needed help with the numeracy test and is now a qualified teacher in London.

3rd year, Anthropology, University of Edinburgh- Student needed tuition in preparation for module exams and step-by-step guidance during her dissertation, passed with distinction.

3rd year, History, University of Essex- Student with sever Dyslexia required dissertation supervision.

1st year History and Anthropology: Needed assistance with revision.

A-level/IB/High School Students:
Oxford Application and Interview: Student from Oundle, prepped for Oxford and UCAS, accepted to Oxford.

A-level Anthropology: SEN student achieved an A and offered places at Goldsmiths and Winchester.

A-level Geology and Geography: International student independently studying Geology, AS and A2 Geography. Initially predicted CB, updated to AA and accepted to UCL to study Geophysics.

A-level Classics and History: Student at St. Pauls predicted BBC achieved ABB, accepted into UCL.

A-Level Archaeology: American student attending college in the UK, score rose from high C to an A.

A-Level Geography: Exam revision for student at Tonbridge, predicted B and achieved A.

A-Level Geography and Geology: Student recently changed schools and is resitting AS exams while preparing for A2s. Achieved AAAA and accepted to Imperial College London.

SEN, IB History HL, English HL, and Geography SL: Weekly tuition, he was offered a place at Queen Mary studying History.

IB Geography: IB Revision assitance for Marlborough student, scored 40 points.

IB TKO, Geography and Math SL: Weekly tutoring sessions, scored 37 and is studying Film in LA.

IB -all subjects: Student needed help adjusting from traditional high school to IB course load. Achieved mainly 6-7’s on coursework completed together and gained confidence.

IB - Geography: Intensive revision support. Increased content knowledge, study skills and confidence.

A-Level Psychology: Revision sessions, predict C, achieved B.

Home School: Daily teacher for an American student, who is living in London and completing an American High School diploma. All American subjects including English (Lit/Comp), Government, Maths, General Science and History. Now attends Arizona State University.

CAHSEE test-prep: Group course, intensive test-prep.

SAT Prep:
Weekly exams prep and university applications including selection, personal statement, interviews and applications. Now attends Princeton.

Student required intenstive summer tuition, score rose by 238 points.

Student with test-taking anxiety from ASL. After 4 months of revision student
scored 680 math, 720 verbal, 750 writing and is currently studying at UCLA.

Student had recently moved from India and achieved a 1960, she now attends Columbia University.

GCSE Students:

GCSE All Subjects: SEN American student attending MPW who had both learning differences and behavioural problems. Daily tuition to help student adjust to the curriculum.

IGCSE Geography and History:Homeschool teacher for international student.

GCSE English and Geography: Intensive daily summer tuition for student attending Oundle.

GCSE (OCR) Geography: Holiday tuition for student at Queens Gate.

Family Tutor (ages 14, 16): 3 years- Two girls, support in all subjects since they had missed school while traveling.

Family Tutor (ages 12, 15): 2 years- Daily homework/test-prep assistance. Older student achieved top AP History exam score in entire school and accepted to John Hopkins University. Younger student accepted into Columbia Prep. Also assisted with Bat Mitzvah speech, public speaking and interview skills.

Family Tutor (ages 10, 14, 16): 3 years- Daily homework and test-prep assistance for all children who attended the United Nations International School while their mother underwent treatment for cancer.

13+ and Common Entrance Exams:

Summer tuition in Geography for student at Radley whose end-of-year exam results were lower than expected.

Tutored student for the Marymount Butler Scholarship Exam. Offered bursary and early entrance.

Student at The Pilgrim School aiming for Harrow, St Pauls, or Marlborough. Accepted to Marlborough.

ISEE Test-prep Maths and English:

Student was successful admitted to first choice school, Bronx School of Science.

SSHAT/ISEE Test-prep: Accepted into 2nd choice private school and 1st choice independent school, accepted a place at Regis High School.

11+ Exam:

Intensive summer courses follow by weekly tuition. Accepted to Haberdashers.

International student aiming for Consortium 1, Queens Gate and Holland Park. Attends Holland Park.

International student (boy) aiming for boarding and accepted to Winchester.

Working with student from GEMS Hampshire to improve writing skills, reading comprehension, and general test taking. Student was accepted to Westminster.

Worked with family for 3 years- Student at Thomas` working towards 11+ exam accepted to St Swithun`s.

After 2 years of tuition, was offered a bursary for top choice school.

Weekly student attending Charterhouse Square School, accepted into St. Pauls.

Student currently attending St Josephs and applying to Alleyns.

SEN Dyslexia and ADHD (9yrs): Weekly tuition for boy with severe dyslexia.

Test-prep and interview (8yrs): Worked with a professional child for 2 years.

Homework help: American family attending Knightsbridge School.

Home school (8yrs): All subjects as student moved mid-year.









Contact this Tutor
Feedback For Candace (7)
We have a total of 9 review(s) for Candace.

Sallie (Mrs)
28/10/2019

4/5 Rating

Candace was very nice and seemed very knowledgable.


Andrew (Mr)
11/03/2019

4/5 Rating

Candace demonstrated knowledge and competence in delivering her plan and tuition sessions. Very experienced tutor.


abdulrahman (Mr)
06/03/2019

1/5 Rating

Unfortunately she didn’t respect the time and she always come too late , she cancelled the class after 45 minutes of the time of class .

Tutors Response :

Hello,

I am very sorry I was unable to work with your daughter who was lovely.

Sadly, the timings just didn`t work as you live an extra 15 minute walk away from the address TutorHunt provided. Instead of being late every week I felt it was better to let you select another tutor.

Best of luck.


Kitty (Mrs)
21/11/2018

5/5 Rating

Candace is a highly qualified and committed tutor. She is good with young people and was engaging and charming with our daughter, who was studying Ancient History at the time.
Mrs K.


Paul (Mr)
11/06/2018

5/5 Rating

Candace is an excellent tutor-calm and with a lovely personality. My son took to her straightaway and she has helped him immeasurably with his geography. First rate.


John (Mr)
24/07/2017

5/5 Rating

Candace was very kind and patient with our son. Thanks Candace! He finished the year with great grades!


Susie (Dr)
22/05/2017

4/5 Rating

Overly professional / helpful/ understanding. We are very grateful for the support she was able to give in a pressurised time frame. Many thanks.


Amina (Miss)
18/03/2016

5/5 Rating

Candace is excellent and she really helped me with what I needed.


Justine (Mrs)
28/08/2015

4/5 Rating

Candace is a great Tutor, she helped our 11 year old with some preparatory 11+ work and gave us a great understanding of the different systems in a variety of schools. We hope to use her again when back in the UK.

Tutors Response :

Thank you so much Justine. It was great working with you and I hope you are enjoying your holiday. I look forward to working with your family again!


Nearby Locations

Earls CourtHigh Street KensingtonWest BromptonEarls Court Biology TutorsEarls Court English TutorsEarls Court Geography TutorsEarls Court History TutorsEarls Court Maths TutorsHigh Street Kensington Biology TutorsHigh Street Kensington English TutorsHigh Street Kensington Geography TutorsHigh Street Kensington History TutorsHigh Street Kensington Maths TutorsWest Brompton Biology TutorsWest Brompton English TutorsWest Brompton Geography TutorsWest Brompton History TutorsWest Brompton Maths Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.469 seconds
twitter    facebook