Username:      Password:     

Tutor Hunt > Subjects > Maths Tutors >

Michael (Tutor)

Member Information
Member Type:Tutor
Name:Michael
Member Since:15/06/2012
Last Login:21/10/2014
Location:Cranleigh, Surrey
Michael

Subjects Taught
Rate: 35.00 per hour

+  Maths (ks3, gcse, adult-learner, a-level)

Information about Michael

I am a Cambridge mathematics graduate with an abiding love for maths and a passion to help students discover and master maths for themselves. I offer engaging and effective mathematics tuition at all secondary levels including GCSE and A-level.

Two of my three children have left university and one is still at primary school, so I am engaged closely with the education system at all levels and understand what both students and parents are looking for to achieve academic success. I and my family have lived in Cranleigh for over 20 years and have connections with a number of local schools.

More than almost any other subject, maths needs confidence to be built, and an individually tailored approach. Some students can grasp mathematical concepts, but need practice to eliminate errors, and challenge to stretch their capabilities. Others struggle to understand at a more basic level, and an imaginative and pictorial approach with plenty of real world examples is needed to achieve that "penny drops" moment!

Depending on the student, tuition may include any or all of: coaching to consolidate (or anticipate) teaching at school revision for examinations working through past examination papers teaching and testing of specific sections of the curriculum or more free-wheeling exploration of mathematical topics. By agreement with students and parents, homework may be set and marked.

If you want to succeed in your exams and also to deepen your appreciation of mathematics and have fun, then get in touch!

Availability: Flexible to suit students, including after school on weekdays and at weekends. I am happy to teach in students` homes in Cranleigh or up to 10 miles away in the surrounding area in Surrey and West Sussex, including Guildford, Horsham and Godalming - or I will teach at my own home if students prefer. If teaching in a student`s home, I may charge by arrangement for travel if this exceeds 10 minutes each way

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: At the time of writing I have more than 15 active tutees spread right across the secondary level, from A-level Further Maths to Year 7. Additionally I have extensive experience as a trainer and coach over more than 25 years as a business manager and consultant. This means I can combine teaching expertise with a wide-ranging practical approach to all aspects of mathematics, to help students learn more effectively through seeing how maths is directly relevant to real life. I have also coached my own children effectively at various ages and through a number of subjects including mathematics, one son having gone on himself to complete a mathematics degree at Cambridge University.

Qualifications: MA (Cantab) in Mathematics

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Has References: Yes

Will Tutor Online: No

Contact Michael
Username
Password
Forgot passsword

My Fans

This user has no fans.

Favourites

This user has no favourites.

 


    
© 2005-2014 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved | Privacy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.031 seconds